top of page
  • Writer's picturebobgraybosch

Mission Accomplished!


After30+ years of gradually putting it on to the tune of 334 lbs, I took the step of committing the next 30 or more to keeping it off. I've decided to be open about this personal struggle for two reasons:


1) There is no keeping of secrets on this small island.

2) Far, far, more importantly, we are facing an obesity crisis in the United States. Everywhere we turn we are constantly bombarded with cheap, lousy food choices and kooky diet schemes all aimed at making the schemer rich and the Country fat beyond belief. It was extremely hard for me to reach this point, but I did it with the realization that I could keep doing what I was and steadily watch myself deteriorate further and die, or I could make the change that had to happen. The illnesses associated with obesity are as long as my arm. IF, in any tiny way, I am able to help just one person struggling with their weight, it will be all worth giving up my privacy.


Chapter One


As 2018 was winding down I went from "thinking" about weight loss surgery to actively seeking information about it. I knew that after many, many, failed diets, I had done myself more harm than good. The first idea that came to mind was VBLOC. It sounded too good to be true! A pacemaker type device attached to the Vegus Nerve that would tell my brain I was not hungry and viola, there goes the weight! The only problem was that it is new; there are very few Dr.'s using it; the track record really wasn't in; and Insurance didn't cover the $20,000 Surgery. Other than that, it sounded good.


I had to take another step so I saw a Bariatric Surgeon, the only one on Maui. Normally this is concerning, but I quickly found out this guy really knows his business. From that day in November the transformation was afoot. There was first a 4 hour seminar on what leads to unhealthy eating, the possible solutions, and the details of each. I'm not going to go into the pro's and con's of each type of Surgery, other than to say there are 4 that Insurance will pay for. Each has a different profile for weight loss, reversibility, requirements, and risk. The choice is and should be yours with guidance from a Dr., not a Dr. telling you what to do because it makes him or her more money. I chose the most complicated surgery because I felt it fit my lifestyle best and offered the best long term weight loss profile. From there a Psychiatric evaluation, a Nutritionist Evaluation, and joining a support group were needed.


I also found out that I was going to be walking a lot more than I was. I have Chronic Fatigue Syndrome, so my limitation on walking was about to the mailbox and back daily. I needed to get to 2 miles, but it was do or die in my mind. Nine weeks ago I began walking and ever so slowly increasing my distance in preparation for the new Bob. This was not easy at all. My knees, joints, back, and stamina were pushed as far as I safely could. All the while using ice, pain relievers, a Tens Machine, muscle relaxants, and heat to ease the pain. Because of my CFS, I chose to do all the walking at one time as recovery can take quite long.I did this every day with few exceptions for flare up tendon pain where I could not walk. My wife bought me a peddle exerciser which helped when I just couldn't walk.


Wednesday was finally the big day and I went home on Thursday. My surgery pain has been tolerable with pain medication every 6 hours, but I feel with each succession it is dropping a bit; my appetite is picking up; and my water intake is increasing. with my Surgery, for the first week liquids only. Second week, blended foods (baby food). Third week, soft foods which are easy to chew.Fourth week, normal diet.


I got this!More later...

178 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page