top of page
  • Writer's picturebobgraybosch

Castaway


Two days after my feet hit the ground in Hawaii I knew that finding employment needed to be first on the list. (neither of us had jobs lined up when we moved and normally employers

in Hawaii will not consider people not already living here because they tend to leave at very high rates) I knew one for certain. I loved my boats and I love water, so I headed down to Lahaina Harbor to see what opportunities might exist for a guy high on enthusiasm and low on ability as far the Ocean was concerned.


I came across a Dinner Cruise Boat, and noticed a "Cook Wanted" sign. I asked the Manager about the job and she said


"Can you cook chicken and steaks on a grill?" as she pointed to the stern of the boat where two gas grills were situated.

"No problem" I said

"Come back tonight and I'll give you a tour" she said


That night I came back and took a Dinner Cruise and met the crew. One very unusual guy introduced himself as "Castaway" and believe me, he looked the part. I had worked in themed situations before when I was a Navigator at "The Rainforest Cafe" and took on the character of "Watubi Bob" so I thought this was what Castaway was doing. Anyway, I got hired and started the next day!


As I became familiar with the crew I learned more and more every day that Castaway was not an act, but a seriously messed up War Veteran. He would rarely speak; his hands were always shaking; and could not stay on task very well. The Manager would always try to find a duty for him where he had the least interaction with the guests. It was really sad.


After about six months I reluctantly left the boat because I needed to make more money and I had taken on a job as a Property Manager. I tried to do both at first, because I loved the Sea so much, but it was killing me working all the time. About a year later I got a call from my old Manager and she asked me how I was doing?


"Pretty good, but I sure do miss the boat" I said

"Funny you should say that because I am leaving and am looking for my replacement. The only person I could think of that was qualified was you. Would you be interested in Managing the Boat" she said


I quit my day job and took over as the GM of the Boat! Most of the crew was still the same, including Castaway. While he had his challenges, he always showed up on time. In Hawaii that is golden. Because I was now doing payroll, I learned that Castaway was actually Dennis. Seeing again how he was treated, I made it my priority to give him as much responsibility as he could handle. He took over some warehouse functions; learned to cook: and even bartend! As this happened he became more vocal with the guests and even more so took on the "Castaway" persona. Don't get me wrong. He was not real good at these things, but he tried very hard; liked what he was doing; and the guests really liked him.


I remember as Halloween approached, the whole month of October he had a fake parrot on his shoulder and looked more and more scurvy every day. Some of us thought he had maybe went off the deep end, but there was no harm and he was happy. One night Castaway asked for discount tickets for his parents who were visiting from CA. He was so proud to show his parents around the boat. He introduced me to them, his father a Veteran as well. Castaway was beaming!


About six months after I started Managing, I got a call from the Boat Owner who told me that I had been doing a great job in every aspect. I had even handled some serious issues at Sea well! But, I was told, that he never intended for me to be permanent GM, just interim. His buddy from CA was on his way to take over and he hoped I would train my replacement. It was a devastating day for me. The new Manager, had run a small charter in Lahaina several years ago and was forced out of business due to a lawsuit resulting from a death of one his passengers. They had started to leave their mooring, but a woman was still in the water and the prop got her and she bled to death. This was my new Boss...


All most every aspect of the Boat got sloppy. Our Boss would show up to work with alcohol on his breath. (there is zero tolerance for any member of a crew to have any alcohol while on duty). He would hit on female guests; put undocumented passengers on; and play loose with everything. The moral was low. No one in upper Management cared that this was going on because he was the Owner's friend. I finally had taken all I could handle and put my notice in.


On my last day, we set outdoor an early morning Whale Watch and I was acting Manager for the cruise. I liked to mix a squirt of Coke with my Sprite to give it color. Castaway was tending bar that morning. While running around preparing for guests I reached for what I thought was my home made Ginger Ale, but to my shock was a half glass of whiskey!


"That's mine!" said Castaway.


I was on my way out of the boat; the other guy was in charge; but I could not in good conscience let this go. I also did not want to deal with it on my last day, so I called the Boss; told him what happened; and we set out on our cruise. The Boss decided to fire Castaway that day. A few months later, Castaway was found dead on the Beach in Lahaina. To this day, I question what I did and that I was somehow responsible.



19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How Many Times Should You Have Died

Over the course of my life there have been many occasions where I should or could have died. Often by my own doing and some quite unexpectedly. I have a friend who I'll say was at least partially resp

bottom of page