top of page
  • Writer's picturebobgraybosch

Dad is gone

I grew up in a small, 2 bedroom, Cape Cod house in Mishawaka, IN. At the time of my birth our home only had 2 bedrooms. My two brothers in one and me and Mom & Dad in the other. There were plans for more room, but for the time being, it had to do.


On March 31, 1964 he came home from work with a terrible headache and laid down. That night, Mom put me to bed in their room in my crib (I had just turned 3).


In the middle of that night I awoke to paramedics in our room working on my Dad. Mom saw me awake and said "You're going to go to the Nimtz's house for a few days". Mom made the decision to keep me from the passing, wake, and funeral as she thought I was too young, and this was too difficult.


A few days later I came back home and everything was normal to my 3 year old eyes except Dad was gone. I have only three memories of my Father. Hugging him when he came home from work; him showing me a sled he made for me; and the night he died. Over time I guess I just sort of figured it out, because I have no memory of being told Dad was gone.


While Mom mean't well, I have had a tough time dealing with this to this day. I trust no one; I have a really hard time getting close to anyone.


Always allow the grieving process to take place no matter how tough you think it may be.




102 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

How Many Times Should You Have Died

Over the course of my life there have been many occasions where I should or could have died. Often by my own doing and some quite unexpectedly. I have a friend who I'll say was at least partially resp

bottom of page